Ohio cities that require rental registration

Last checked: October 15, 2026

Ohio has no single statewide landlord license. Some cities add their own registration, licensing and inspection rules. This table lists the ones I could verify on an official city page, with the fee as the page states it.

How this table is built. A city appears only if I opened an official city page or code page and read the requirement myself. If I could not reach an official source, the city is not listed. A city missing from this table may still have rules. Always check your city's own page before you rely on a fee.

City-by-city table

CityRequires registration?Fee (as published)Inspections?Official source
ColumbusYes (new for 2027; initial window Oct 1 to Dec 31, 2026)$15 per unit per year, max $1,500 per complexEvery 3 years: exterior, common areas and shared systems; not unit interiors unless requestedCity fee schedule
Ordinance 0923-2026
ClevelandYes, all non-owner-occupied residential property$70 per unitHVAC certification for 4+ unit buildings; lead safe certificate for pre-1978 unitsCity rental registration page
CincinnatiYes (Residential Rental Registration), separate from the county auditor filing$1.00 per unitNot stated in the city FAQCity RRR FAQ (PDF)
AkronYes, annual, due January 31$25 per unit, max $2,500; $25 late fee after Jan 31Not stated on the registration pageCity rental registration page
LakewoodYes, annual housing license$75 per unit for non-owner-occupied 1-2 family; $45 to $60 per unit for other types; max $3,500 per multi-family building; $25 per unit late fee after Nov 1Not stated on the license pageCity housing license page
YoungstownYes, all rentals registered and licensed annually$40 single unit; $40 first unit plus $25 each added unit in a multi-unit buildingYes: inspection scheduled within 30 days; $40 re-inspectionsCity property registration page
Maple HeightsYes, annual, due Jan 1 to Mar 31$75 per unit per year; $35 for updates; $150 inspection and tenant license fee on tenant changeYes: general inspection on tenant changeCity rental page
Garfield HeightsYes, annual, due Jan 31$200 per rental unit or property; $150 late feeYes: owners must schedule inspections of each unitCity rental page

Fees are per year unless the city's page says otherwise. "Not stated" means the page I read did not mention inspections, not that none happen.

The state layer: county auditor filing

Separately from any city program, Ohio Revised Code 5323.02 requires owners of residential rental property to file with the county auditor where the property sits. The filing covers the owner's name, address and phone number, a contact person if the owner is a business entity, and the property's street address and parcel number. Updates are due within sixty days after a change.

The Hamilton County Auditor describes its version as a Residential Rental Property Registration Form with no fee for the state registration, and notes that a $150.00 penalty "may be charged" to future tax bills for unregistered rentals. Counties run this differently, so check your own auditor's page. The auditor's page also warns that some cities, villages and townships have enacted their own programs that may include inspections and fees.

Patterns worth knowing

  • Fees range widely. From $1.00 per unit in Cincinnati to $200 per unit in Garfield Heights among the cities listed here, so a portfolio that spans cities needs a separate budget line for each.
  • Deadlines cluster at the start of the year. Akron and Garfield Heights are due January 31; Maple Heights runs January 1 to March 31; Lakewood's late fee starts after November 1; Columbus's first window runs October 1 to December 31, 2026.
  • Inspections vary from none stated to every unit. Youngstown inspects each registered property, Maple Heights inspects on tenant change, and Columbus limits routine inspections to common areas and shared systems.
  • Late fees are common. Akron, Lakewood, Maple Heights, Garfield Heights and Columbus all list a late fee or a late-registration charge.

Cities not yet verified

Toledo, Dayton, Whitehall, Bexley, Reynoldsburg, Hamilton, Euclid and Parma are not listed yet because no official page confirming a rental registration rule could be checked as of the date above. Toledo may rely on the county auditor's rental registry under state law, but its city code was not confirmed. A city gets added once its official page has been read.

If you own in more than one city

Keep one list of every rental with its address, parcel number, city and the date each registration is due. For the newest and largest program, start with the Columbus rental registry guide. If a tenant stops paying in any of these cities, the Ohio eviction process is the same statewide, with local court costs.

Frequently asked questions

Does Ohio require every landlord to register rentals?
Ohio Revised Code 5323.02 requires owners of residential rental property to file contact information with the county auditor. The Hamilton County Auditor says there is no fee for the state registration. Cities can run their own, separate programs on top of that, which may include fees and inspections.
If I registered with the county auditor, do I still need to register with the city?
In Cincinnati, yes. The city FAQ says registration with the city is also required even if you are registered with the Hamilton County Auditor. Check each city, because the programs are separate.
Why is my city not in the table?
A city is listed only if I could open an official city page or code page and read the requirement. If I could not, I left it out. Leaving a city out does not mean it has no registry.
Are these fees current?
They were read from the linked pages on the date shown. Cities change fees, often at the start of a year. Always confirm on the linked page before you pay.
Does a rental registry apply to short-term rentals?
Often these are separate permits. Columbus, for example, excludes properties subject to short-term rental permits from its rental registry. This page covers long-term residential rentals only.

Sources

Every figure and statute on this page came from these pages, fetched on October 15, 2026.